Town of Acton, Maine Planning Board Meeting

October 15, 2020, 6:00 p.m. (approved 11/5/20)

MEETING MINUTES

Members Present: Gavin Maloney, Interim Vice-Chair, Dennis Long, Nathan Tapscott, John Qua, Chris Whitman, Frank Kunkel (Alternate), Jim Driscoll (Alternate)

Also Present: Ken Paul, Director of Planning; Kristiina Robinson, Land Use Secretary; Ben Smith, North Star Planning; Virginia Deboer, Video Recorder; Charles Crespi

Call to Order: Gavin Maloney opened the Planning Board Meeting at 6:03 p.m.

Designate Alternate Voting Members: A quorum of regular members was present so it was not necessary to designate a voting Alternate.

Approval of Minutes: John Qua moved to approve the minutes of October 1, 2020 as written. Dennis Long seconded; motion passed 5-0.

Election of Officers: Members discussed the Planning Board Bylaws and elected Officers.

Dennis Long moved to elect Christopher Whitman as Planning Board Chairman. John Qua seconded; motion passed.

Dennis Long moved to elect Gavin Maloney as Vice Chairman. Nathan Tapscott seconded; motion passed 5-0.

Consensus of the Board was to review the Bylaws at a future meeting before electing an Executive Secretary.

Subdivision Review: Ben Smith of North Star Planning reviewed the Town of Acton Subdivision Regulations with Members. Mr. Smith outlined the Application process, Performance and Design Standards, Guarantees, Waivers and Appeals. Mr. Smith also discussed the differences between Cluster Subdivisions and Conventional Subdivisions and answered questions from Members regarding the Subdivision Regulations.

Adjournment: Dennis Long moved adjourned the meeting at 8:36 p.m. Nathan Tapscott seconded; motion passed 5-0.