## TOWN OF ACTON SELECTMEN'S MEETING JULY 18, 2006

**1. PUBLIC FORUM:** Richard Michaud complained that his wife took a mattress and box spring to the Transfer Station and attendant Brian McGlincey would not allow her to leave it because it was not broken down into components. This greatly inconvenienced her. Transfer station manager Steve Ledoux noted that they require owners to have all products separated. If a person is not physically capable, the attendants will break it down for them. Ledoux's understanding of the situation was that Brian unloaded and accepted everything she had on her truck except the mattresses.

## 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA: Approved as written.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF LAST MEETING: Approved as written.

**4. WARRANT:** Approved and signed.

## 5. OLD BUSINESS:

(A) ASSESSING: Lorraine reported that Joe has completed the field work of listing and measuring.

(B) CABLE CONTRACT: No action.

## 6. NEW BUSINESS:

(A): ACTON AMBULANCE: Roger Roy was present and requested that selectmen waive the building permit fee. On a motion by Tony, the fee was waived. Roy reported that Lawyer Ferguson is drawing up the lease contract. Roger also noted they would like to buy 400-500 yds of gravel from the lot at the school.

(B): APPOINTMENTS: The following appointments and re-appointments were made for one year terms: Animal Control Officer Frank Shippee; Code Enforcement Officer, Kenneth Paul; Deputy CEO, Steve McDonough; Health Officer, Linda Whitman; EMA Director, Tom Gore; Deputy EMA, Peter H. Smith; E-911 Addressing Officer, Ben Gore; Representatives to SMRPC, Lorraine Yeaton and Tom Cashin; Board of Assessment Review members Richard Nass, Gary Morrison, Jane Thomas, Keith Davis, Virginia Grover, Richard Neal; Fair Hearing Authority members Gary Morrison, Andy Brazier and Randy Richard; Conservation Committee members Cathrin Long, Dennis Long, Hannah Phillips, Suzanne Doyle and Patrick Doyle; Comprehensive Plan Implementation Committee members Tom Cashin, Randy Goodwin, John Moore, Percival Lowell, Yoli Gallagher and Jane Archambeault; Mary Grant Committee members, Andy Brazier, Carl Davis, Yoli Gallagher, Richard Johnson, Richard Neal, Barbara Seckar, Jim Wilson, Frank Verock, Lorraine Yeaton. For three year terms: Planning Board members Dwight Venell, Tom Cashin, Brian Belanger and Yoli Gallagher; Zoning Board of Appeals members Marian Elliott and Barbara Seckar; for a two year terms, ZBA Alternate Leonard Turcotte; and Warrant and Finance Committee member Charles Hefferon.

(C): POLE PERMIT: A permit for a redesign of a permit signed 2/7/2006 for location on H Road was signed.

Nancy reported that Harold Smith went to represent the Town at the Labor hearing in Hallowell to address the violation issues and did a fine job.

7. ADJOURNMENT: Adjourned at 7:34 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Nancy Ruma, Tony Cogliandro, Jim Driscoll.

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Dennis Long, Bob Anderson, Chip Venell, Scott Mooney, Roger Roy, Steve Ledoux, Richard Michaud, Percy Lowell, David Cote, Petey Smith, Lorraine Yeaton.